ACWA Elects New President

Members of the Association of California Water Agencies (ACWA) today announced the election of Brent Hastey, chairman of the Yuba County Water District, to a two-year term as president of the statewide association. Steven LaMar, a director for Irvine Ranch Water District, was elected vice president.

The election was held Nov. 29 at ACWA’s 2017 Fall Conference & Exhibition in Anaheim. Hastey and LaMar will take office in January.

“I am honored to lead ACWA during this critical time for California water policy,” Hastey said.  “As we prepare for climate change and work to update our aging water infrastructure, the voice of ACWA’s public water agency members is more important than ever. I look forward to the challenges ahead as we work to build a strong water future.”

Hastey, who succeeds outgoing ACWA President Kathleen Tiegs, a board member of Cucamonga Valley Water District, has served on the ACWA Region 2 Board since February 2015. He is chairman of the Yuba County Water Agency Board of Directors and a former member of the Yuba County Board of Supervisors, Yuba County LAFCO, Regional Council of Rural Counties, Board of Reclamation District 784, and the Sacramento Area Council of Governments.

LaMar was appointed to the Irvine Ranch Water District Board of Directors in February 2009 to fill a board vacancy and was subsequently elected to four-year terms in 2010 and 2014.

He has served as the chair of the ACWA Federal Affairs Committee for the last two years and is also a member of the board of directors of several other water-related organizations, including the National Water Resources Association, the Southern California Water Committee, and CalDesal.


Related News

From Archive


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}